Department of Botany


The Department of Botany of Women's College, Agartala, was established in 1984 with general course having only one teacher, Dr. Prantosh Roy. The Honours course was introduced in the 1992-1993 session with three teachers. The students of both honours and general courses are achieving excellent results in the University examinations since it's conception. Some of them attained highest rank for several occasions in the University examinations.

Presently the Department is running with 6 (Six) teachers, out of which three are Post graduate teachers. The department feels proud of its teachers; present and the past.

Department Profile

Year of Establishment June, 1984
Name of HOD Sri Probal Kumar Chowdhury
Courses offered B.Sc. (Major & General)
Intake Capacity Major: 33 & General: 42
Entry level Qualification H.S.(+2) passed
Faculty Position 03 (01 Assistant Professor, 02 PGT)
Staff Members 01 Staff Member (Group-D: 01)

Faculty members

Sl. No. Name Designation Specialization Contact
1 Sri Probal Kumar Chowdhury Assistant Professor & HOD Cytogenetics and Plant Tissue Culture

Click here for Biodata
Smt. Sarmishtha Chakrabarti Post Graduate Teacher Angiosperm Taxonomy

Click here for biodata
3 Smt. Tapashi Dhar Post Graduate Teacher Cytogenetic and Plant Tissue Culture

Click here for biodata

Staff members

Sl.No. Name Designation Contact
1 Smt. Mina Rani Ghosh Peon 9774998956

Question Papers

Click here for Question Papers

Program Organized by the Department

Click here for the Program organized by the Department

Laboratory Facilities

Laboratory Facilities: 3 nos. of Laboratories.

Contact Us

Address of Communication
Department of Botany
Women's College
B.K. Road, Agartala
Tripura, India
Contact No: 0381-2326020 (Office)